Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 4th, 2014

Sometimes she’s in, sometimes she’s away…

A few weeks ago she told the hairdresser that she and my mom had been on a 2 week vacation… again, we don’t know where but with this horrible weather continuing–I hope it was somewhere WARM!

Yesterday we took her to the trailer.  Probably the last time she will get there because it was not a fun day for her.

For starters, we were going because it was the day to open it up in hopes that summer will arrive and we can actually get away and use it!  So my dad was busily working outside and, inside, my mom and I were working to unpack boxes of food and other items that can’t be left there over the winter–shampoo in the bathroom, etc.  My brother and nephew were also along–the first time for my nephew–and my daughter was there.  So my nephew is zooming up and down and helping, my brother was trying to get the satellite dish set back up and grandma was just watching.

Despite being told numerous times that we were only going for the day, she laid out clothes for a week and then began looking for a suitcase.  Her belongings were left behind but not until after she was distracted into finding her purse.  My brother drove her up and she asked often where my mom was on the drive.  Though when they drove into the laneway to pick up my nephew she remarked that he used to live there.

So she was with us sometimes while up there and other times she was somewhere else.  Looking for her things, etc.  Sometimes she knew where she was and that she’d been there before, other times not.  On the drive she asked a number of times where they were going.  When told, she commented that she didn’t know my parents had a trailer and asked when they got that.

It is sad to watch her and try to include her in things knowing that she is probably somewhere else.

She no longer knows the time of day.  She’s better in the evenings if she naps in the afternoon but that doesn’t happen very often.

Saturday she told my dad that Friday afternoon my mom had a nap and she went out to church and then mom was still sleeping when she got back but she forgot to check on her.  There are many questions but no point in asking them!

Easter Monday, because my daughter was off school, I went to the house after work for supper.  Grandma asked if I’d had to work down in Waterloo… “Where am I now?” almost rolled off my tongue but I simply nodded.  Sometimes it catches you off guard and it’s difficult to not ask questions.

Until next time… the journey into the unknown continues…

Read Full Post »