Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 26th, 2014

We knew the time would eventually come when we noticed an even worse decline in grandma’s health than before.

That time is now.

She looks confused when we walk in the door and if we go to the kitchen first and then walk into the family room it’s as though we just walked in the front door again.  She looks at us oddly as though determining if we belong there.  I have always thought that when she no longer recognizes my daughter and I, it’s time to find a home.

Last night we were heading out to the hot tub and she told my mom she was so cold she couldn’t even think of going in the pool to cool off.  My mom tried to explain to her that it’s too cold for the pool and that we closed it weeks ago.

I’m still not sure if we’re nearing the end of her stay at the house or if we’re just nearing the end.  The other day she was in tears as she told my mom that she knows she’s not right in the head and that she prays to God that he not make her live like that any longer.  She wants to die.  I was at work but my first thought was what do you say to that?

How does a person react to that?

Today is another day.  We’ll see how she is.  I’m sure she’ll think I’m supposed to be at work!

Read Full Post »